more more Events
Deep Dive Sessions Green Business Award Speaker Programme Information
Advisory Board Story









If we want to preserve our planet for future generations, the economy must be part of the solution.


Switzerland’s most influential environmental prize is thus awarded to innovative companies which combine economic success with ecological impact.

A unique selection process involving national business federations and environmental organisations ensures that the most convincing solutions are identified each year. An interdisciplinary body of experts selects the five best projects from the 40 which have been nominated. These companies then present their ideas to a high-profile jury. Under the leadership of former Federal Councillor Doris Leuthard, the jury then selects three finalists to make presentations at the CE² Day event before deciding on the winner.

The award is given in partnership with the Swiss Environmental Foundation and the “Go for Impact” association, which functions as an umbrella for the BAFU (Federal Department of the Environment), economiesuisse, öbu, Swissmem and WWF Schweiz, among others.

Who are the nominees for the “Green Business Award”?


Economic success and sustainable principles are not contradictions, as impressively proved by the nominees for the “Green Business Award”. These pioneering companies are all passionate about shaping tomorrow’s entrepreneurial world and are not only successful in their segments but also raising the profile of ecological solutions.

An overview of Switzerland’s most innovative entrepreneurial sustainability solutions is available at the website.

WINNERS 2020


Last year’s winner is a pioneer in the urban mining segment and thus acts as a lighthouse for the construction industry. The family-run business recognised the enormous significance and potential of the sustainable economy as early as 1983 and has invested heavily in the segment ever since. Today the Eberhard Building Materials Recycling Centre handles up to 450 000 tonnes of mineral building rubble per year, processing it for use in new buildings – without any loss in quality. The new Europaallee road in Zurich is a prime example of this, being constructed from 99 percent top-quality recycled building materials.

Urban Mining

Eberhard

Eberhard Bau AG has developed a response to the large quantities of building rubble: Since one and a half decades, the company, based in Kloten ZH, has been one of the pioneers in the reuse of such building materials.

FINALISTS 2020

Urban Mining

Eberhard

Eberhard Bau AG has developed a response to the large quantities of building rubble: Since one and a half decades, the company, based in Kloten ZH, has been one of the pioneers in the reuse of such building materials.

Simplified Food Waste Managmenet

Kitro

The food service industry produces a lot of waste. In view of the low margins in the industry, it appears that there is little scope for reducing them. KITRO, based in Renens VD, has developed a digital tool that allows larger restaurants, hotel kitchens and canteens to reduce their food waste.

Schweizer Transportportal

Pickwings

Logistics is a major emitter of CO2 and also experience high margin pressure. Pickwings, headquartered in Baar ZG, has developed a platform that connects shippers and transport companies in real time. The delivery network already has access to around 6000 trucks.

JURY

«Switzerland needs the Green Business Award, because change begins with discovering the right role models to orient yourself towards.»

Doris Leuthard
Jury President

Doris Leuthard
Jury President
Roberto Cirillo
CEO Schweizerische Post
Daniel Bloch
VRP & CEO Camille Bloch SA
Franco Chicherio
CSEO Swiss Economic Forum
Cornelia Diethelm
Founder Centre for Digital Responsibility, Director Shifting Society AG
Prof. em. Dr. Thomas Dyllick
Professor für Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement, HSG
Roman Hirsbrunner
CEO Jung von Matt/Limmat
Dr. Dominik Isler
Co-Founder LINDEN Live Learning Labs
Prof. Dr. Reto Knutti
Professor für Klimaphysik, ETH Zürich
Patrizia Laeri
Editor-in-Chief, CNN Money Switzerland
Jean Laville
Deputy CEO Swiss Sustainable Finance
Patrick Odier
Seniorpartner und geschäftsführender Teilhaber Lombard Odier
Ruedi Noser
Unternehmer & Ständerat
Anna Stünzi
Leadership Council SDSN Switzerland
Reto Ringger
CEO & Founder, Globalance Bank AG
Ivo Furrer
Executive Board Member, digitalswitzerland

Presenting Partner «Green Business Award»


The «Green Business Award» highlights one of the key economic and social issues of our times. Sustainability is a hot topic and will become even more important in the coming years and decades – also in Switzerland. Swiss Post is participating as a presenting partner, taking on the role of industry trail blazer to honour sustainable entrepreneurship in Switzerland.

more more Events
Green Business Award Deep Dive Sessions Programm Speaker Informationen
Advisory Board Story









Wenn wir unseren Planeten für zukünftige Generationen erhalten wollen, muss die Wirtschaft Teil der Lösung sein.


Für die dringend notwendigen Veränderungen brauchen wir Vorbilder, an denen sich Entscheidungsträgerinnen und Entscheidungsträger orientieren. Der «Green Business Award» zeichnet deshalb Schweizer Unternehmen aus, welche ökologische Innovationen mit ökonomischem Erfolg verbinden.

Ein einzigartiger Auswahlprozess über nationale Wirtschaftsverbände und Umweltorganisationen garantiert, dass jedes Jahr die überzeugendsten Lösungen aufgespürt werden. Ein interdisziplinäres Fachgremium wählt aus über 40 Nominationen die fünf besten aus. Diese Unternehmen präsentieren sich anschliessend vor einer hochkarätigen Jury. Unter der Leitung von Alt Bundesrätin Doris Leuthard bestimmt diese die drei Finalisten, welche sich am CE² Day präsentieren können, sowie den Preisträger.

Getragen wird der Preis partnerschaftlich durch die Schweizerische Umweltstiftung und den Verein «Go for Impact», welcher unter anderem das Bundesamt für Umwelt BAFU, economiesuisse, öbu, Swissmem und WWF Schweiz vereint.

Wer ist für den «Green Business Award» 2021 nominiert?


Wirtschaftlichkeit und nachhaltiges Agieren sind keine Gegensätze. Das beweisen die Nominierten für den «Green Business Award» eindrücklich. Es sind allesamt Firmen, welche mit Pioniergeist und Leidenschaft die unternehmerische Welt von morgen gestalten. Sie sind am Markt erfolgreich und schärfen das Bewusstsein für ökologische Lösungen.

Eine Übersicht der innovativsten Lösungen der Schweiz im Bereich der unternehmerischen Nachhaltigkeit finden Sie auf der Webseite www.greenbusinessaward.ch.

Gewinner 2020


Eberhard Unternehmungen sind Pioniere im Bau und Umwelt. Das Familienunternehmen gestaltet mit Leidenschaft die unternehmerische Welt von morgen. Der Gewinner des letztjährigen «Umweltpreis der Wirtschaft» ist einer der Pioniere in der Wiederverwertung des Bauabfalls. Bereits 1983 schaffte der Familienbetrieb die erste stationäre Brechanlage an. Heute werden im Recycling-Zentrum jährlich bis zu 450’000 Tonnen mineralischer Schutt verarbeitet, welcher zum Bau von neuen Häusern gebraucht werden kann. Dieser Vorgang nennt man Urban Mining. Eberhard kommt zu dem Schluss, dass sich mit Urban Mining der Kreis schliesse. Dank modernster Technik können ganze Häuser recycelt werden. Aus einem alten Haus werde ein neues. So wurde die Europaallee in Zürich zu 99 Prozent mit Qualitätsbaustoffen aus zweiter Hand gebaut.

Urban Mining

Eberhard

Die Eberhard Bau AG hat eine Antwort auf die grossen Mengen von Bauschutt entwickelt: Das Unternehmen mit Sitz in Kloten ZH ist seit anderthalb Jahrzehnten einer der Pioniere der Wiederverwendung von bereits genutzten Baumaterialien.

FINALISTEN 2020

Urban Mining

Eberhard

Die Eberhard Bau AG hat eine Antwort auf die grossen Mengen von Bauschutt entwickelt: Das Unternehmen mit Sitz in Kloten ZH ist seit anderthalb Jahrzehnten einer der Pioniere der Wiederverwendung von bereits genutzten Baumaterialien.

Simplified Food Waste Management

Kitro

Auch in der Gastronomie fallen viele Abfälle an. Angesichts der niedrigen Margen in der Branche scheinen sie sich kaum verringern zu lassen. KITRO mit Sitz in Renens VD hat ein digitales Instrument entwickelt, mit dem zumindest grössere Restaurants, Hotelküchen und Kantinen ihre Lebensmittelabfälle verringern können.

Schweizer Transportportal

Pickwings

Die Logistik ist ein grosser Emittent von CO2 und steht ebenfalls unter einem Margendruck. Pickwings mit Sitz in Baar ZG hat eine Plattform entwickelt, mit der Warenversender und Transportfirmen in Echtzeit miteinander verbunden werden. Das Liefernetzwerk kann bereits auf rund 6000 Lastwagen zurückgreifen.

JURY

«Die Schweiz braucht den Green Business Award, weil er Anreize setzt, ökologisch nach wirtschaftlichem Erfolg zu streben.»

Doris Leuthard
Jurypräsidentin

Doris Leuthard
Jurypräsidentin
Roberto Cirillo
CEO, Schweizerische Post
Daniel Bloch
VRP & CEO, Camille Bloch SA
Franco Chicherio
CSEO, Swiss Economic Forum
Cornelia Diethelm
Founder, Centre for Digital Responsibility
Prof. em. Dr. Thomas Dyllick
Professor für Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement, HSG
Roman Hirsbrunner
CEO, Jung von Matt/Limmat
Dr. Dominik Isler
Co-Founder, LINDEN Live Learning Labs
Prof. Dr. Reto Knutti
Professor für Klimaphysik, ETH Zürich
Patrizia Laeri
Chefredaktorin, CNN Money Switzerland
Jean Laville
Deputy CEO, Swiss Sustainable Finance
Patrick Odier
Seniorpartner und geschäftsführender Teilhaber, Lombard Odier
Ruedi Noser
Unternehmer & Ständerat
Anna Stünzi
Leadership Council, SDSN Switzerland
Reto Ringger
Gründer & CEO, Globalance Bank AG

Ivo Furrer
Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates, digitalswitzerland

Presenting Partner «Green Business Award»


Der «Green Business Award» bespielt eines der wichtigsten Themen in Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft der heutigen Zeit. Nachhaltigkeit beschäftigt die Menschen und wird es in den kommenden Jahren und Jahrzehnten zunehmend tun – auch in der Schweiz. Die Schweizerische Post engagiert sich als Presenting Partner und repräsentiert sich als Vorreiterin in der Branche, um nachhaltiges Unternehmertum in der Schweiz auszuzeichnen.